Executive Directors
Michelle Hayward 

Michelle Hayward, Executive Director of Elementary/Middle Education

Hayward joined Fayetteville Public Schools in 2005 as the principal of McNair Middle School, where she has led the school to national recognition as a National Middle School to Watch in 2009, 2012, and 2015, as well as being the recipient of the Shannon Wright Award as the Arkansas Middle School of the Year. Under her leadership McNair Middle School has consistently been recognized for excellence by the Arkansas Department of Education’s performance rewards, the NCEA/ACT High Performance Awards, and the University of Arkansas Office of Educational Policy awards, being named first in the state in English Language Arts scores. 

She earned a bachelor’s degree in science from Arkansas Tech University, a master’s degree in educational leadership from the University of Central Arkansas, and received her educational specialist’s degree in central office administration from Arkansas State University. Hayward is currently pursuing her doctorate. 

Prior to joining Fayetteville Public Schools, Hayward served as an elementary principal in school districts in Prairie Grove, Danville, Belleville, and Briggsville, Arkansas, and has nine years of experience as a classroom teacher.


 Mark Oesterle

Dr. Mark Oesterle, Director of Secondary Education

Oesterle served as an administrator for the Don Tyson School of Innovation in the Springdale School District, a position he held from 2014 to 2016. He earned a bachelor’s degree in art from the University of California, a master’s degree in education from Arizona State University, and a doctor of philosophy in educational leadership and policy studies from Arizona State University. 

Prior to serving at the School of Innovation, Oesterle served as a senior program specialist at the National Institute for Excellence in Teaching in Santa Monica, California, associate superintendent for curriculum, instruction, and assessment in the Littleton School District in Avondale, Arizona, and as a principal for thirteen years in the Deer Valley Unified School District in Phoenix, Arizona. He has also served as an adjunct professor at Arizona State University, as well as a classroom teacher at both the elementary and secondary level.