The Latest from FPS
Holt Teacher Named State Science Finalist
Posted on 08/22/2016
Justin Leflar

Holt Middle School teacher Justin Leflar has been named the Arkansas science finalist for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

‚Äč“I am pleased to congratulate the four Arkansas teachers who were selected as 2016 state finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching,” Gov. Asa Hutchinson said. “Your innovation within the classroom and your commitment to equipping our students with valuable STEM skills have not gone unnoticed. Thank you for furthering STEM education in Arkansas, and keep up the great work.”

The National Science Foundation, on behalf of the White House, oversees the program that recognizes outstanding teachers who have demonstrated a commitment to professional development, innovative teaching techniques, and technology use in their classrooms.

A total of 100 Arkansas teachers were nominated. The state review committee selected Leflar as a state science finalist and Henry, Meyer, and Sandy as mathematics finalists. Arkansas’ finalists are now eligible to be considered for recognition in 2017 by the national committee.

Each year a national committee comprised of scientists, mathematicians, and educators recommends up to 108 teachers to receive PAEMST awards in mathematics, science, and computer science from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. territories, and schools operated in the United States and overseas by the Department of Defense Education Activity. Teachers who are selected as national PAEMST awardees each receive a $10,000 award, a Presidential citation, and a trip to Washington, DC, for a series of recognition events, professional development activities, and an awards ceremony.